OT: Spamcop BL - good or dangerous?

Arthur Sherman arturs at netvision.net.il
Wed Nov 29 15:57:45 GMT 2006

> > Sometimes I get a message from any of lists I'm subscribed 
> to, that mail to
> > my address bounces.
> > And as a reason I see Spamcop blocking sender's (legitimate) server.
> > 
> > Here comes the question:
> > What would you use instead of Spamcop?
> > It gotta be free service, and the more lists the better: 
> right now, Spamcop
> > is #1 blocking BL in the logs.
> > I am afraid if I drop it, the blocking will be worse.
> SpamCop does not block legitimate servers. I use SpamCop myself.
> Do you have your own Domain Name and dedicated IP or are you 
> utilizing an
> ISP? If the latter, then you need to contact them and get them to
> correct the problem. If the former, then contact SpamCop directly and
> find out exactly why you are being BL'd. For the record, 
> SpamCop uses a
> conglomerate of other RSB's and DNS's to filter mail. The problem may
> very well lie with one of them.
> I just did a SPAM database look-up and you were not listed. I did
> discover this though regarding your mail servers:
> *********************************************************************
> WARNING: One or more of your mailservers is claiming to be a 
> host other
> than what it really is (the SMTP greeting should be a 3-digit code,
> followed by a space or a dash, then the host name). If your mailserver
> sends out E-mail using this domain in its EHLO or HELO, your E-mail
> might get blocked by anti-spam software. This is also a technical
> violation of RFC821 4.3 (and RFC2821 4.3.1). Note that the hostname
> given in the SMTP greeting should have an A record pointing 
> back to the
> same server. Note that this one test may use a cached DNS record.
> mx20.netvision.net.il claims to be host 
> mxin6.netvision.net.il [but that
> host is at (may be cached), not]. 
> *********************************************************************
> You might want to correct that problem before simply blaming 
> an arbitrary
> RSBL service.
> -- 
> Gerard

The address that was blocked belongs to spamassassin.apache.org, not to me.

The address you mention (netvision.net.il) is my ISP, and has nothing to do
with my server, which is cpt.co.il


Arthur Sherman


More information about the MailScanner mailing list