message whitelisted for some reason

Kevin Spicer kevins at BMRB.CO.UK
Thu Jun 5 08:00:33 IST 2003

> Any idea why the message from * would have been
> "whitelisted" - Maillog portion follows, with my whitelist and the
> header information.

As the message you appended was spam the spammer probably forged the
envelope address (maybe you noticed the Return-Path in the headers).
Spammers will often present mail as being from your domain (in the
envelope, not necessarily in the headers).  Its a good idea to whitelist
local domains by mail server IP (or IP block) rather than domain name.

BMRB International
+44 (0)20 8566 5000
This message (and any attachment) is intended only for the
recipient and may contain confidential and/or privileged
material.  If you have received this in error, please contact the
sender and delete this message immediately.  Disclosure, copying
or other action taken in respect of this email or in
reliance on it is prohibited.  BMRB International Limited
accepts no liability in relation to any personal emails, or
content of any email which does not directly relate to our

More information about the MailScanner mailing list