AOL blocking MailScanner messages!

Michael Baird mike at TC3NET.COM
Tue Dec 2 19:40:04 GMT 2003

No such problems here, MailScanner 4.25-9, on linux.

to=<XXXXXXX at>, ctladdr=<XXXXXXXXX at> (22724/111),
delay=00:00:30, xdelay=00:00:18, mailer=esmtp, pri=120420, [], dsn=2.0.0, stat=Sent (OK)

> Dear all,
> Apologies for the shock subject line, but it seems to be the case (at
> least for our site;-).
> Recently, we started seeing messages like:
> 2003-12-02 16:09:43 1ARD5c-0002Sm-Rm ** ****** <*****>
> R=dnslookup T=remote_smtp: SMTP error from remote mailer after end of
> data: host []: 554 TRANSACTION FAILED
> 554 AOL will not accept delivery of this message
> in our Exim mail logs
> After numerous emails to postmaster at (all replys were automated
> "sorry for the inconvenience", "read this/that policy" types) I ended up
> calling them (at international rates I might add!!!).
> The 'helpful' gentleman on the end of the phone suggested turning off
> any scanning software and retrying. Now, all I did was add the line
> To:    *    no
> to /etc/MailScanner/rules/virus.scanning.rules
> and restart.
> After this change all was well and delivery started. The only
> differences I can think of between the two emails that would have been
> sent would be the omission of the X-MailScanner headers (apart from
> X-MailScanner-<site-name>: not scanned,etc )and a MailScanner signature
> Looking at the error message they are rejecting on data content after
> the initial SMTP connection so this makes me think (a hunch) they are
> rejecting on X-MailScanner-xxxx : Found to be clean or other MailScanner
> headers. (Sobig.F springs to mind!)
> Has anyone else noticed this behavior from AOL on their MTA?
> I have opened a ticket with their postmaster team to see if I can verify
> the above assumptions. In the mean time I've left the virus scanning off
> for AOL recipients.
> Additionally, if they are blocking on "X-MailScanner-<site-name>: Found
> to be clean" I am wondering if it would be possible to customize the
> "found to be clean message" as this would be the value in the
> MailScanner headers from my 4 mail hubs that would be consistent.
> Regards
> Dan
> --
> This message has been scanned for viruses and
> dangerous content by MailScanner, and is
> believed to be clean.

More information about the MailScanner mailing list