I need help, I'm been blacklisted

Mark Sapiro mark at msapiro.net
Sun Jul 11 14:55:05 IST 2010

On 11:59 AM, Chris Barber wrote:
> The error is fairly clear. It says "Proper authentication required".
> Since this is an MX mail server, it should not require authentication.
> Do you get this error if the sending domain is not your domain? Either
> way, you have a misconfiguration in your MTA. 

That is not the OP's issue. The OP ran an 'open relay' tester against
his server. The 'error' that you are talking about is actually a report
of a PASSED test, namely the OP's server refused to relay mail from an
unauthenticated, non-local sender to a foreign domain.

The OP was concerned about the second result I quoted which was a test
that failed. I don't think his MTA is misconfigured at all.

> -----Original Message-----
> From: mailscanner-bounces at lists.mailscanner.info
> [mailto:mailscanner-bounces at lists.mailscanner.info] On Behalf Of Mark
> Sapiro
> Sent: Saturday, July 10, 2010 12:37 PM
> To: MailScanner discussion
> Cc: Juan Pablo Lorier
> Subject: Re: I need help, I'm been blacklisted
> On 11:59 AM, Juan Pablo Lorier wrote:
>> I also checked if we are blacklisted and it seems we are not, but we 
>> have 4 servers blocking our mails (all us servers).
> How do these servers respond? If they reject you at SMTP, what reason do
> they give (from your sendmail logs)? If they accept you at SMTP and then
> send a bounce DSN, what does it say?
>> I used one web tool I found in google (http://www.checkor.com/) to 
>> check if I was relaying and I had this results:
>> 220 antispam.montecarlotv.com.uy ESMTP Sendmail 8.13.8/8.13.8; Fri, 9 
>> Jul 2010 09:10:35 -0300 HELO ortest.checkor.com
>> 250 antispam.montecarlotv.com.uy Hello www.no-ip.com [],
>> pleased to meet you RSET
>> 250 2.0.0 Reset state
>> MAIL FROM: test at checkor.com
>> 250 2.1.0 test at checkor.com... Sender ok RCPT TO: test1 at checkor.com
>> 550 5.7.1 test1 at checkor.com... Relaying denied. Proper authentication 
>> required.
> [...]
>> 250 2.0.0 Reset state
>> MAIL FROM: spam at correo.montecarlotv.com.uy
>> 250 2.1.0 spam at correo.montecarlotv.com.uy... Sender ok RCPT TO: 
>> test1 at correo.montecarlotv.com.uy
>> * Test Failed, 250 2.1.5 test1 at correo.montecarlotv.com.uy... Recipient
>> ok *
> This 'failure' looks bogus to me. Why should you not accept mail for
> your own domain? Perhaps they expect an "unknown recipient" response,
> but even then they don't know that 'test1' is not a valid local part in
> your domain.
> Further, even if you were relaying mail that you shouldn't be, this may
> get you blacklisted (i.e. added to various blacklists which you say you
> have checked and are not on), but if you are not on a blacklist, it
> won't get your mail blocked.

Mark Sapiro <msapiro at value.net>       The highway is for gamblers,
San Francisco Bay Area, California    better use your sense - B. Dylan

Mark Sapiro <mark at msapiro.net>        The highway is for gamblers,
San Francisco Bay Area, California    better use your sense - B. Dylan

More information about the MailScanner mailing list