OT: quick question about sorbs

Gregg LainJr. gregg at mochabomb.com
Fri Jul 25 19:42:19 IST 2008

I won't use sorbs at all anymore - my hosting was recently moved to an old dynamic IP block  that is now static - sorbs was contacted many weeks ago and I blv our block is listed by them depsite many requests. 
That's a bad way to operate - thus won't use them..

-----Original Message-----
From:  Richard Frovarp 
Date:  7/24/08 8:34 pm
To:  MailScanner discussion 
Subj:  Re: OT: quick question about sorbs

Chris Yuzik wrote:
> Hi everyone,
> For some reason, Sorbs keeps blacklisting IPs that belong to Google.com.
> I regularly see lines in the maillog that look like so:
> Jul 21 15:15:04 devel sendmail[7342]: m6LNEwH4007323:
> ruleset=check_rcpt, arg1=<user at example.ca>, relay=ag-out-0708.google.com
> [], reject=554 5.7.1 Rejected found in
> safe.dnsbl.sorbs.net
> Is there an easy (yet also safe) way of still using sorbs but explicitly
> allowing email from Google in to the server? Something tells me this
> will be done as an entry to /etc/mail/access, but I'm not sure if that
> overrides the RBLs that are specified in sendmail.mc.
> Thanks.
> Cheers
Yeah, safe.dnsbl.sorbs.net isn't very safe in my opinion. Safe includes 
new.spam.dnsbl.sorbs.net which will hit Google (and probably others) 
from time to time. You could instead just use the parts of sorbs that 
you do consider to be okay. Results in more lookups, but I've found 
new.spam makes safe.dnsbl unacceptable to use.
MailScanner mailing list
mailscanner at lists.mailscanner.info

Before posting, read http://wiki.mailscanner.info/posting

Support MailScanner development - buy the book off the website! 

More information about the MailScanner mailing list