[MAILSCANNER] (Offtopic) Sorry just had to ask other mail admins

Dhawal Doshy dhawal at NETMAGICSOLUTIONS.COM
Thu Sep 22 16:17:37 IST 2005

    [ The following text is in the "ISO-8859-1" character set. ]
    [ Your display is set for the "US-ASCII" character set.  ]
    [ Some characters may be displayed incorrectly. ]

Chris Sweeney wrote:
> Is anyone else getting slammed from this virus machine?
> For over the last month, I have been getting hit over 600 times a day 
> with virus infected emails from
> h-66-134-23-12.sfldmidn.covad.net []
> I have emailed covad until I'm blue in the face and they have yet to do anything.  I have ended up blocking it at the firewall but I would like to know if anyone else is seeing activity from this address.  Now I have also been getting emails from the same source being relayed through megamailservers.com .  I have also contacted them with little success either.  
> Thanks and back to normal MailScanner Help :)
> Chris

Not here at least.. also this IP is listed in CBL and hence sbl-xbl, see 

AFAIK virus origins unlike spam differ for most mailservers, anyways i 
suggest you use virbl.bit.nl at the MTA (if you are convinced) or at the 
SA level.


Try running your own RBL for virus hits as per this:

Also if you can, pester the author "Joris Trooster" to add a feature for 
listing the IP only after 'x' number of hits in 'y' seconds.

- dhawal

------------------------ MailScanner list ------------------------
To unsubscribe, email jiscmail at jiscmail.ac.uk with the words:
'leave mailscanner' in the body of the email.
Before posting, read the Wiki (http://wiki.mailscanner.info/) and
the archives (http://www.jiscmail.ac.uk/lists/mailscanner.html).

Support MailScanner development - buy the book off the website!

More information about the MailScanner mailing list