false positives from spamcop.net?

Matt Kettler mkettler at EVI-INC.COM
Thu Feb 3 15:39:23 GMT 2005

At 09:10 AM 2/3/2005, Tom Combs wrote:
>Have there been any reports of problems with the spamcop.net RBL
>returning false positives on Feb 2? I had some email sent from
>mail.magnet.fsu.edu to an internal magnet.fsu.edu address that got
>tagged as spam by spamcop. I checked their website and we are not
>listed in their database.

Any chance you got reported to spamcop and wound up listed by them for a
short period of time?

Given the latest trend in spam, zombies that use the proper relay, it's
going to be common for spamcop to wind up with short-lived listings for the
legitimate mailservers of ISPs. At least, until the spamcop guys clean
things up in their reporting engine, which they may have already done.

------------------------ MailScanner list ------------------------
To unsubscribe, email jiscmail at jiscmail.ac.uk with the words:
'leave mailscanner' in the body of the email.
Before posting, read the MAQ (http://www.mailscanner.biz/maq/) and
the archives (http://www.jiscmail.ac.uk/lists/mailscanner.html).

Support MailScanner development - buy the book off the website!

More information about the MailScanner mailing list