Blocking attachments, maybe subject line statement?

Chris Harris cwharris at MORGAN.NET
Fri Jan 23 19:23:23 GMT 2004

They are coming to my customers. The from address is different everytime. I
have 3 diffent domain names and two of them are getting them. the only
difference in wording is the domain. The email says this:

Internet Billing Notice
Please press "open" and read the attached Billing Notice.

Note if you do not read this withing 24 hours we at regret we
will have to terminate internet service

----- Original Message -----
From: "Julian Field" <mailscanner at ECS.SOTON.AC.UK>
Sent: Friday, January 23, 2004 11:06 AM
Subject: Re: Blocking attachments, maybe subject line statement?

> At 17:02 23/01/2004, you wrote:
> >Apprently there is some new worm out that generates emails that appear to
> >come from our billing department. I cant find anything on it anywhere,
> >the file that it has with it is a page.hta file. I want to block this
> >email altogether, so what is the best way to go about doing that? I was
> >going to black list them, but since it is apparently some kind of worm,
> >its from all different sorts of people. What sort of action should I take
> >with this?
> >
> >Chris
> If they have merely used your billing department's email address as the
> "From" address in email they are sending, there is nothing you can do to
> stop this propagating across the internet, as it never goes anywhere near
> your servers.
> Using MailScanner's filename.rules.conf file you can block .hta files
> coming into your site or leaving your site. It blocks them by default.
> --
> Julian Field
> MailScanner thanks transtec Computers for their support
> PGP footprint: EE81 D763 3DB0 0BFD E1DC 7222 11F6 5947 1415 B654

More information about the MailScanner mailing list